“Some infinities are bigger than others”

My favorite quote from a summer book reads as follows:

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”

Life is interesting. From my interactions with people, there seems to be a specific moment in everyone’s lives where things just changed. A moment where they can say effected them for the better or worst. Some infinities are bigger than others. People are in and out of our lives, bad and good times come and go, and tomorrow is never promised. However, it’s those small periods, those small “forever” that seem to stick with us for the long haul.

 Life is fast paced. We get lost in the rush of what’s going on and lose appreciation of the day to day. This includes relationships as well. Sometimes we just get used to people just being around, getting comfortable with the idea that the current situation is forever, which may not always be the case.

Life changes, and no one is exempt from this process. Being comfortable is quite comfortable, isn’t it? We get complacent with the people around us, and the situations we are in that once things change, it feels to come with a bit of shock.

“Hey, I have some bad news”
“What? What happened?”

“Filipe was hit by a drunk driver. He didn’t make it.”

Life is a challenge. My challenge came about 4 years ago when my best friend was killed in a drunk driving accident. He pulled over to the side of the road when a drunk driving later sent him to his death. His passing rattled my world because I never believed the realities of this world could affect me, or anything in my perfect bubble. You begin to believe you are untouchable until something actually hits. His death also made me realize that while nothing is promised, there is always the opportunity to let people know how much you actually care for them.

 Life is beautiful. It certainly is. Any defining moment requires reflection to move forward with growth. Mine?  His tragic death helped me realize something so beautiful about life. We have a limited amount of time to let the people around us who matter most that we love them. I understand everyone is on, ‘don’t tell me show me kick’, but it’s nice to be reminded of the simple joy of being loved. One of my biggest regrets in my life is that I did not let me best friend know I loved him enough, and I wish I had the opportunity again.

Life is an opportunity.  We can either take our opportunity to share our lives in a negative or a positive way.  Make sure to take every opportunity it allows you. Remind the people who are in your life that you love, care, and wish the best for them. Most importantly, while some infinites may be bigger than others, the blessing for whatever time you have within that “infinite” is truly a gift that life gives. Appreciate it.

