Romans 8:18

I work for a place that gives me many opportunities to travel the country and work with young adults with all sorts of different experiences. I was blessed to have the opportunity to go to NCYC (National Catholic Youth Conference), and I met this one outstanding young adult that I would like to share about.

I was waiting on line to go to confession, and this young adult was sitting right in front of me, waiting, but visibly upset. I hate seeing people upset, so I reached out and I said, “you know the lord is waiting for you to talk to him? Let him know your pain, it’s okay.”

What happened afterwards is something I wasn’t expecting. She shared how she was at an all time low in her life at one point; self harmed, and wanted to end it all together.  I wasn’t expecting anything like that, but I also felt compelled to comfort her to some extent.

I think that at any point in our lives we have hit rock bottom and we don’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. This beautiful young adult felt she couldn’t share this pain with anyone, including God, and was hurting for a number of years. Harvesting such pain is so toxic that it consumes and corrupts the soul. You begin to believe you aren’t worth anything and begin to turn away from God.

One of my favorite passages when the struggle is just too much comes from Romans 8:18,

“The pain you are feeling, can’t compare to the joy that is coming.”

Before she left to go to confession, I told her this. “I don’t know anything about you, but I recognize pain. I’ve suffered much of it all my life, but I’ll tell you this. You are worth love.”

I gave her a hug, and she went on her way.

Every day we see people who are suffering these unknown battles and sometimes we just pass on by because we are concerned with our own pain. There is no harm with reminding someone about the amount they are loved. Even if they don’t believe it, they experienced it for a brief moment when you touch them and say, “You are worth so much love.” 

Leave a Reply

