Begin with a Smile

Short post today. 

During my lunch break I went over to Giant to pick up some food. I’ve been down about a couple things going on, and I guess you can see it on my face. I tend to wear all my emotions on my face, bit of an issue sometimes. 

So I walk in and there’s a worker placing the tomatoes out and he goes,

“Hey, Kid. Catch!” 

“Uh, okay.” 

“You should smile more. It could be worse, you know. You could be 70 years old, putting out tomatoes.” 

Needless to say, it put a smile on my face. It could very well be worse, but since I’m a bit dramatic, everything is a big deal. My mom has been one that has been extremely worried about me, so she’s been sending my quotes to brighten my morning everyday. Today she sent me this:

“Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word,a
listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all
of which have the potential to turn a life around.” 

Too often we let the negativity of this world just capture us and bring us down. It’s almost like we focus so much on what went wrong, that we forget about everything that is going right. Everyone is enduring some form of battle, no matter how big or small, a battle of sorts. A smile could be the only moment in which they find happiness, so why not smile? 

Mother Teresa said that smiling is the first step to falling in love. So, smile away! Because this world certainly needs as many smiles as it can get. 

Leave a Reply

